RTO Full Form | What is RTO -Working,Functions,Transport Authority ? Explained

RTO Full Form

RTO Full Form-What is RTO ? RTO  is an Indian government organisation which is responsible for maintaining a database of drivers and a database of vehicles.This is a central act applicable throughout the country. Motor vehicle department is responsible for empowering various provisions of this act. RTO department is headed by the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways.

 RTO Full Form is mentioned below :

Regional Transport Office

What is RTO ?

RTOs play an important role in transportation by issuing licences to drivers for autos, taxis, scooters, buses etc. and issuing permits to vehicles. In some places, RTOs are located in the local police station and, hence, the police officials help with the inspection of vehicles. They check whether the vehicle has valid documents and licences and charges a small fee for the purpose. RTOs, also, issue licences for hire-car services like Uber, Ola, and aggregators like Meru and Easy Taxi.


What an RTO does :

As per the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988, the RTO is the nodal department which is responsible for issuing of a vehicle’s registration certificate and display of registration on the vehicle’s windscreen, issuing registration number plates and other related issues. It also issues driving licence, suspension of licence and payment of penalties. It also gives policy and direction to the public sector RTOs and appoints their Directors and other staff. Now, this is not a revelation. The government departments of every state, especially in the smaller towns, are also heavily involved in the car or motor vehicle industry, ranging from issuing of vehicle registration certificate to conducting the registration of a new or used vehicle.


RTOs in the state :

Agartala: The Agartala RTO is located in the Secretariat Complex in the city. Dibrugarh: The Dibrugarh RTO is situated at the Shri Jagannath College of Engineering. Dhenkanal: The Dhenkanal RTO is located at AEP premises. Dascomah and Garhwa: The Dascomah RTO is situated at Government Polytechnic College. Haridwar: The Haridwar RTO is located in DAV College Campus, Lal Bazar. Hazaribagh: The Hazaribagh RTO is situated at the National Engineering College, Hazaribagh. Koderma: The Koderma RTO is located at the Hill Top Model School. Khunti: The Khunti RTO is located at the Government Degree College, Jaggadas. Murdiguda: The Malkangiri RTO is located at the Odisha State Skills Development Centre. Nuapada: The Nuapada RTO is located at Kanker University, Pipili.

Check your state’s RTO center at – Bankbazaar


Conclusion :

All that you need to know about RTO and how it works, to get to know how to obtain your driving license.

FAQs about RTO :

1.The parent agency of RTO is the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways.
2.The RTO issues driving licences.
3.RTO was established under section 213(1) of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988
4.The RTO identifies untaxed vehicles, and identify keepers of cars entering various Indian states.
5.RTO ensures that co-ordinated development of road transport through management of permit.
6.RTO is related to downtime and represents how long it takes to restore from the incident until normal operations are available to user.

7.RTO charges and collects tax as per the provisions of the motor vehicle act.

Leave a Comment